My accent is stronger when I type

It’s also stronger when I go on a rant.  As a matter of fact, most people don’t recognize a strong accent in me at all, it’s just my “y’alls” and “yonders” that gain notice.  This is not surprising.  I’ve got roots in smaller, southern spaces, but I was raised in Atlanta.  The hustle and bustle of the big city don’t leave their mark on your speech like the slower spots in drawl country.  I don’t mind, because the accent is in my heart.  Awww…

So, what’s the big difference between the south and living out here in Colorado?  Well, besides the fact that no one says “bless her heart”, you cannot get sweet tea in any restaurant (except chic-fil-a and Mellow Mushroom), there is no ocean for 1000 miles, and restaurants don’t get overloaded with after-church crowds on Sundays… just about everything.  But, I love it.  Can’t help myself.  I remain loyal to my roots, but I am in awe of God’s creation here.  It is rugged, breath-taking, and big.  The Rocky Mountains are a big deal to me, like, everyday.  I think my children are already getting desensitized to them, though.  I base this on the fact that every time I say, “Wow!  Look at the mountains today!” they roll their eyes way into the back of their heads.  William, who was only 6 weeks old when we moved out here, has ONLY this landscape as the background of his 2 1/2 years.  I can’t even imagine. 

It is therapy for me to go out for a walk and head west toward the shadow of the Rockies and just know how big God is.  A reminder that I need each and every day.  Remember that He is Lord.  Lord of my parenting (which is often spotted with impatience, frustration, mistakes, inconsistency, ….), Lord of my relationships (also often spotted with impatience, frustration, condescension, insensitivity on my part), Lord of my marriage, Lord of my leaders (Romans 13:1 – there is no authority except that which God has established), Lord of my life and all those other “mountains” I so often try to control, even knowing that control is only an illusion (and on my part a defense mechanism, too).  There is so much freedom in His Lordship – and yet, so often I find new shackles I have placed on myself.  That is why I must, symbolically at least,walk toward the mountains each day and know that their creator and mine loves me, knows me and First loved me, and that it only takes faith the size of a mustard seed to say “Move” and those mountains can be moved. (Matt 17:20) 

One thought on “My accent is stronger when I type

  1. Katherine Thompson says:

    Oh . . . I am SO going to love this!! Give me fair warning if I am going to be blogged about!! Love you – Kat

Leave a Reply

