“Blah”titude

It’s only January 11, and the winter blahs have settled in full weight.  At least, that’s what my attitude of the last week is reflecting.  Blah meetings, blah cooking, blah cleaning, blah homework, blah, blah, blah.  Even blah blog.  Really the only thing I’m inspired to do  most of the time is turn on the fire and sit on my blah behind.  Alas, the rest of the world didn’t get the memo about my hibernation, and so,  life continues and the fire must wait.  I mean, if I need to do the busy life thing, I want to at least try and enjoy some of it, but I am just not motivated right now.  Attitude…I need a new one, from my head to my shoes…Patti LaBelle, where do I get one of those??

My sweet husband surprised me with my own skis for Christmas.  I feel so ridiculously glamorous owning something like skis.  When we moved to Colorado I was a total ski novice, and I’m improved all the way up to an intermediate novice now, but I have discovered a total passion for skiing.  It is beautiful, quiet and just plain amazing up on the mountain.  Skiing is a time consuming (and wallet consuming) sport to maneuver into life with little ones at home, so the time we get up there is not easy to come by.  The ski shop had to test and set my boots for the skis, and I just went to pick them up today.  All of a sudden my attitude was not so bad.  As a matter of fact, I was so giddy that Steven, the guy working there, probably thought I had sucked down a pound of sugar at lunch.  I was literally jumping up and down.  Steven gave me the “she is so amateur” look and asked me when I was going to hit the slopes, and I must admit I was tempted to throw Will in the car and hit I-70 towards the first steep hill I could find.  

Mopping the floor and scrubbing the toilets do not leave me exhilarated like being perched atop an 11,000 foot peak against a sapphire blue sky.  Not even close.  Working 4th Grade math problems and grocery shopping are not as physically thrilling as watching your skis fly silently over fluffy white powder, leaving cool little swirl patterns on the mountainside in your wake.  The difference is significant.  Actually, the difference is significance.  Skiing is a blast, but how much impact does it have on, say, eternity?  The day-to-day life God has called me to will leave longer-lasting marks than the ones so quickly erased from the mountain.  A life that God can use to impact my family, my friends, and others for His eternal purposes.  I’m not saying that recreation is a bad thing, on the contrary, I think it is wonderful when it is given appropriate priority.  Currently, my lifestyle does dictate those priorities almost automatically.  Feed, clean, clothe and teach the little Tuckers are at the top of my list.  Spend quiet time studying God’s Word needs to be up there.  Love on my hubby.   Catch dust bunnies.  Help out a friend who just had surgery and can’t get around very well.  After these, spending a day whooshing down the mountain falls close to the bottom of the list.  However, if I can get pumped up about a pair of boots that look like they fell off a Transformer robot and an overgrown pair of popsicle sticks (even if they do have cool hot pink designs on them!!) then maybe I can dig a little deeper and find the joy and enthusiasm I need for the job God has given me.  The awesome responsibility of getting to help train and mold some precious little people.  The amazing things he’s done in my life that  I should want to share with others!  The blessing of getting to stay at home and being primary caregiver to my children as well as having a flexible schedule that allows me time to serve our church, school or community.  I was hoping if I started typing it I would start feeling it, and the truth is…I am!  You have been very patient through this Mary Therapy, reader.  The ultimate and most awesome encouragement is this:

“Your attitude should be the same as that of Christ Jesus:

Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be grasped, but made himself nothing, taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness.  And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself and became obedient to death – even death on a cross!  Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.”  (Philippians 2:5-11)

3 thoughts on ““Blah”titude

  1. Gloria says:

    Love this! Good chatting with you last night….

  2. Elizabeth Greer says:

    Great word-reminds me not to have a blahttitude in our iced in state! Love ya!

  3. Amy S. Hobbs says:

    Keep shining with your blah behind! I don’t care what mood you are in . . . I still love you and miss you like crazy. Can’t wait to hear more about today’s event!

Leave a Reply

