“Top” Dream

Top Chef is one of my favorite shows of all time.  Currently it is one of the two shows I actually watch on a regular basis, and the only one that would inspire me to break the speed limit in order to not miss the first five minutes.  ‘Cause I always TRY to go the speed limit.  So, it is my “top” dream to make it to the Food & Wine Classic in Aspen someday.  I would love to do a little hob-nobbing with my favoritest chef-testants and try their delicious fare amidst the beautiful backdrop of Aspen.  It is as close to being on the show as I could get, unless someday my meatloaf is discovered by a Top Chef scout whom I unknowingly invite to dinner.  But, that’s about as likely to happen as me obeying the speed limit everyday for the rest of my life.

In the meantime, I thought I might plan a little weekend foodie trip for our anniversary this summer.  Unfortunately, I came across a few roadblocks:

#1 – no one under the age of 21 is permitted at this event no matter what, no exceptions except the womb.

#2 – roadblock #1 could possibly be addressed by babysitters or friends, but the tickets cost over $1000 apiece.  Yikes!  This doesn’t include lodging or anything, it would cost us about $2200 just to hang out and gorge ourselves for a couple of days.  And, sleep in our car.

#3 – don’t even need #3, roadblock #2 stopped the discussion.  It’s one thing to spend thousands of dollars to travel to fascinating places, make memories and visit with family, etc.  But, to eat for 2 days?  I don’t think so.  Especially considering how many hours I’d have to log on the Wii Fit to work off those 2 days. 

So, I have a new project.  I am enrolling in every contest I can find to try and win 2 tickets to the Food & Wine Classic in Aspen, June 2011.  Last night we ate in a restaurant that is sponsoring one of these contests specifically just to enter the contest.  I can’t justify thousands of dollars, but if the trip is free (plus the cost of eating dinner in that restaurant), then I would happily log 1000 Wii fit hours in one weekend (I’m sure it’s possible), sleep in my car, braid Gail Simmons hair (for those of you baffled, she works for Food & Wine magazine and is a judge on Top Chef), whatever.  So, if you learn of any opportunities, please send me the info.  Help turn my dream into a reality:-)

Disclaimer:  The term “top” dream is used solely for the sake of levity.  Sharing God’s love with the masses, ending world hunger, curing cancer, etc. would all qualify well above the aforementioned “top” dream.

Which one is the real turkey - the one who could "totally" be on Top Chef!!

4 thoughts on ““Top” Dream

  1. Kristy says:

    I would TOTALLY be there with you!! Jerry says the only reason we have DirecTV is because I’d go on strike if I couldn’t watch Top Chef. Maybe one day when we are all independently wealthy we can do the Food/Wine Festival as a Girls’ Weekend…They have something similar in Miami every year too, but I am sure it’s just as pricey.

    • tuckeredout5 says:

      That would be so much fun! Yes, I missed it, too, they just replayed the Restaurant Wars. We also looked at cutting down our extended cable package last year, but since it eliminated Bravo, Richard decided to preserve our marriage and keep it:-)

  2. Kristy says:

    And as an aside, why the heck wasn’t it on this week?!? Or did my DVR let me down?

  3. Mom says:

    I,too, have always wanted to go to the event at Aspen. We spent four days at the wine and food event in New Orleans for less than two in Aspen but we ate celebrity food instead of watching celebrity chefs. I’ll cross my fingers for you, but I could never pray for anyone to get fat. I will pray that you visit a land of milk and honey, do you think that will help? what’s this about in womb?!!!Love, Mom

Leave a Reply

