Tax Returns, Stomach Bugs and Secretariat

Ahh, the glamorous life we lead.
My husband likes to get a headstart on our tax returns…in June. I am not kidding. He has a little spreadsheet that he messes with for 6 months, trying to project the outcome of our day of reckoning with the IRS. Then, in January, the phone calls begin. He will call me at 2:00 in the afternoon everyday beginning January 4, “Have you checked the mail yet?” If so, “Anything?” The anything he is referring to would be W2’s, 1090 forms, anything that might have the least little bit to do with taxes. And when they come – it is a party with the tax software! This year he beat his previous record and finished before the end of January.  I just love this man.

So, taxes is what Richard did this weekend while I was laid up with yet another case of the stomach bug.  That’s all I will say about that, except, when my children are grown, this is something I will NEVER, EVER miss.  Pitter-pattering feet at 6:30 am, handprints on the walls, hotwheels in my bed…yes, I will miss these things someday.  But NOT the stomach bug that seems to get dragged through someone in the family every 6 months or so.  Blech.

(small tangent interjected here – do I mention hotwheels a lot?  If so, there is good reason for that.  I have a 2 1/2 year old boy, and in half that time these little cars have completely invaded every nook and cranny of our lives. literally.  There must be a landfill somewhere devoted just to hotwheels, because otherwise I don’t know how our homes and neighborhoods are not overflowing with the things!  Okay,  moving on…) 

Sunday evening we finished off the weekend with a family viewing of Secretariat.  The weekend improved 1000%.  I loved this movie.  Richard loved this movie.  Caroline, Marfy and Will loved this movie.  We had family involved in the making of the film, which makes it special to us personally(and, my stepdad is an extra in the golf scene – go, Papa!).  The story is so well told, and even though you know the ending, it keeps you totally engrossed.  In the last race of the triple crown, Secretariat rounds the last curve, and Martha Claire blurted out, “I can’t believe my eyes!” at the way Secretariat was racing.  About that time the song “Oh Happy Day” breaks out.  You might be familiar with it if you haven’t seen the movie, “Oh happy day, Oh happy day, When Jesus washed, He washed my sins away!”  Picture, if you will, swaying people, choir robes, hands clapping.  It’s that kind of song.  My spirit was lifted so high.  It seems like an odd place for a gospel song in a movie that doesn’t have a focused Christian message, but one of the verses is, “Ah, it’s a happy day, he taught me how to watch, fight and pray, and he’ll rejoice in things we say everyday.  Oh happy day.”  So, I guess it could be about the fight to win the race.  Regardless of Disney’s soundtrack motivation, it was the perfect ending for me.  After what seemed like a totally mundane weekend, I was convicted about the fact that every day IS a happy day.  We are blessed beyond measure in God’s grace.  All of these little passing things are just part of the race God has intended for each of our lives.  The Light of the World shines for us.  Everyday I want Him to rejoice in the things I say.  Stomach bugs, taxes, whatever comes our way.  Oh happy day!

2 thoughts on “Tax Returns, Stomach Bugs and Secretariat

  1. Mom says:

    Penny Chenery still lives in Denver–I met har at the cast party that Churchill Downs hosted, she confided in me “Edie, that horse was the answer to a lot of prayer about saving our father’s farm, and I never dressed that well.” She still doesn’t, but she is a dear, sweet lady without affectation or conceit. I am blessed to have met her.–Love, Mom

  2. Darlene says:

    I too watched that movie on Sunday! It was interesting when the part with that song was also at a time when the horse was being washed!

Leave a Reply

