Everything Beautiful In Its Time

Lately I have been led to reflect on circumstances that I have witnessed in the lives of some of my friends.  Lives that have been a continuous battle against pain that I cannot even imagine.  Stories that break my heart.  In my own life I have known some hardship, but my own troubles pale in comparison to these that are characterized sometimes by material poverty, but mostly by a lack of family love, comfort, and security.  It gives me pause to say, “Why me?”  Why did I get such a “charmed” life, while others are led down such a hard path.  Even though I’ve experienced my share of difficult seasons, and will likely go through more down the road, my season right now includes a lot of laughing and dancing.  Whereas my life is easily identified by Ecclesiastes 3:1-8, for some people I wonder when they will ever have a time to heal and to dance.  These verses are known to many, made popular in “Turn, Turn, Turn” by the Byrds.  “To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:  A time to be born , and a time to die…” (KJV)  I loved that song when I was a teenager, but it took me a long time to find the jewel at the end. 

“He has made everything beautiful in its time.  He has also set eternity in the hearts of men; yet they cannot fathom what God has done from beginning to end.”

(Ecclesiastes 3:11)

The word everything in the beginning of the verse is just that…everything.  This concept is hard for me to grasp sometimes.  But, this verse tells me that I have to alter my perspective to understand that I am not the judge of what is beautiful.  It is in God’s plan and perfect timing that all things are made beautiful.  He has given us just a glimpse of His immensity,  as much as our humanness can handle.  We still cannot come close to comprehending the big picture.  Yet, in His goodness and mercy He did give us a glimpse.  I call this my explanation for that weird, “itchin’ to get out of my skin” kind of feeling I get sometimes.  The reason I have a constant yearning for something bigger, something better, something I can’t explain.  I want to say it’s not discontentment, but that is what it is – that taste of eternity that is in my heart and that I long to seek, but that I won’t find in this world.  I want to encourage my friends walking through a dark season.  All of this ugliness will be beautiful in its time because that is how God has intended it.  Someday we will understand the master plan.  For now, we trust and have faith.  We love and encourage each other, and hopefully open our hearts to being encouraged by others.  I pray this truth would fall fresh on you, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him.” (Rom8:28)

One thought on “Everything Beautiful In Its Time

  1. Darlene says:

    Thank you so much precious for the encouragement. I know your heart is there for those in hard times, how blessed I feel to have you in my life!

Leave a Reply

