Deep Thoughts

Often a deep thought will come to me in the middle of some brain-stimulating exercise like making peanut butter and honey sandwiches, and it is my habit to share it with the first living, breathing person I come into contact with.  Because most of my contact is with persons not yet double-digit in age, the response to my deep thought is usually filled with lots of cricket chirping, and fish faces…

“Have you ever thought of the vastness of the universe?….

Chirp, Chirp

Chirp, Chirp

And that, dear reader, is why you bear the brunt of my deep thought ramblings…

Here is one for today.  “Snow”cano lives!  The current mound is a much shorter version than the original.  It has endured a month and a half of snow and sunshine and still it remains, a monument to persistence.  The other day William was outside messing around with the mini mound, trying to dig it out with none other than a butterfly net.  Which got me to thinking, because sometimes I do that…how often do I try to move my mountain-sized problems with a butterfly net?  Let me assure you, when I stick to my own resources, that is exactly what I am doing.  I am so often trying to solve my dilemmas on my own, instead of seeking God’s truth and wisdom in the matter.  I don’t know whether to blame the streak of independence that I possess or maybe just my control freak nature.  I am chipping away at the mountain with my butterfly net instead of turning to the Almighty Bulldozer.  Now granted, surrendering the net often means the mountain moves in a different direction than the one I intended.  Luckily, God knows more about what’s best than I do.  A good friend helped to put this in proper perspective the other day with a verse she has been learning, “May the God of peace…equip you with everything good for doing his will, and may he work in us what is pleasing to him” (Hebrews 13:21)

Leave a Reply

