A Date at Sunrise

On our spring break trip last week, Richard and I had a couple mornings together of being some of the first skiiers up the lifts and to make fresh cuts in the new snow.  It was so quiet and peaceful.  Breathtaking.  My heart sang a praise song to our Creator, the artist who rendered this sunrise painting, and luckily no one was around too close because it came right out of my mouth –  loud. 

“Before the mountains were born or you brought forth the earth and the world, from everlasting to everlasting you are God.” (Psalm 90:2)

“Praise the Lord from the heavens, praise him in the heights above.  Praise him, all his angels, praise him, all his heavenly hosts.  Praise him, sun and moon, praise him, all you shining stars.  Praise him, you highest heavens and you waters above the skies.  Let them praise the name of the Lord, for he commanded and they were created.”  (Psalm 148:1-5)

That’s not all that God created.

I have to say that the view in the other direction was also stunning.

Well, hello there, good lookin’.

What are you doing later?

Skiing with your wife?

Lucky lady.

Very lucky lady.

My husband is a much more advanced skiier than I am, but he managed to stay entertained on the blues with me most of the time.  Or at least he did a really good job of pretending that he was.  We had more “date time” than we’ve had in the last year put together.  Not ’cause we don’t try, just that life and 3 kids and commitments have a way of cramping a “couple-on-the-town” kind of style.  So, we try to “date” when our kids go to bed.  Eat a late dinner together, watch a movie, just sit and talk.  Sometimes it works, sometimes we fall asleep.  It’s okay, sleep is good, too.  But, while we were in the mountains we got some fun awake time together.

A girl could do so much worse.  How God has worked in my life through this man is a testimony of His love for me.  I am not worthy of the gifts God has given me, they humble me everyday.  I am so thankful for you, Richard.  You amaze me with your solid love and your ambition to be a godly man.  And on top of all that, you are a total stud muffin.

Hope I didn’t embarass you too much.  I love you.

3 thoughts on “A Date at Sunrise

  1. Stud Muffin says:

    I love you, baby.

  2. wow guys looks like you had a great tirp, glad i stumbled across your blog!

Leave a Reply

