Cereal for Dinner

An old friend of mine is wanting to keep in shape and stay healthy, and she has developed an accountability system consisting of several people in which we e-mail each day’s food and exercise to each other.  It is mostly to keep us honest about those 9:30 p.m. brownies and so that we can encourage one another in the efforts we are able to make towards exercise and taking care of ourselves.  This was my log from yesterday:

Morning:  Breakfast smoothie and Coffee                                                                                         Lunch:  Bagel with butter spread, Tangerine, Water                                           Snack:  leftover cookie cake                                                                                                          Dinner: Bowl of Rice Chex, 4 mini Quiches  (Girl Scout meeting night)

All I eat is breakfast food.  What is up with that?  Yes, cookie cake is totally a breakfast food.

The quiches weren’t even mine, they were brought to our meeting by another mom.  They were just the perfect ending to a day destined to be the day of breakfast food. 

I am not endorsing a diet that will end in diabetes and malnutrition.  Sometimes, a girl doesn’t have time to cook a steak.  The occasional breakfast bonanza won’t kill me.  Cereal is fortified with vitamins and minerals, after all.  I am the type of person who has to eat something, though, or I turn into a mega-mommy-monster.  There are some things we can do without, there are some things we cannot do without.  As busy and distracted as I can be, I have found that I need some good time in God’s word and in His presence. 

 Everyday. 

Not just squeezed into a busy schedule, it needs to be a priority.  “Man does not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.”  Jesus speaking in Matthew 4:4, quoting Deuteronomy 8:3.  He was battling the temptation of hunger while fasting in the desert.  Can I just say that I am glad he said “bread alone”, recognizing that bread is a good thing.  There will be no carb-free diet for this girl!  As a matter of fact, we know food is a crucial thing, we need it to live.  We also need every word from the mouth of God to live.  We cannot get these words from Oprah.  They are given to us in Scripture.  If you need a good word, open His Word.  It is alive and active and sharper than any two-edged sword (Hebrews 4:12).  It will feed you.  Even on cereal days.  Dig in!

3 thoughts on “Cereal for Dinner

  1. Gloria says:

    Man girl, I don’t know how you live on so little food (that would explain how you stay so thin)! But I can totally relate to the cereal for dinner thing, we do that around here at least weekly!

  2. tuckeredout5 says:

    Trust me, Gloria, I cannot live on that much:-) My idea of breakfast for dinner is pancakes, bacon, grits, the works! It was just one of those days I didn’t realize I hadn’t had a full meal until bedtime…which would explain why I was pretty snappy with my kids in the afternoon, too…shouldn’t let it happen. My kids love cereal nights, too!

  3. Darlene says:

    Better be thinking on Cereal for next Wednesday Girlfriend! We are having Meatloaf!!!

Leave a Reply

