Don’t Stop Believin’

Tonight we attended our elementary school choir’s spring performance which was entitled Don’t Stop Believin’.  Yep, the Journey song.

You gotta love how the circle of life involves the band Journey in your youth and then in your children’s youth, right…I know, right???

So, the concert was wonderful, and the events leading up to it,     a blur.  Richard had to swing by the ballet parking lot and pick up Caroline while William and I sat and watched the rain while Martha Claire finished up her second to last dance class before the big recital.  After we had Caroline’s piano lesson.  After I spent TWO hours at JoAnn Fabric and Crafts looking for charms to put on Junior Girl Scout bracelets this weekend at our end of the year overnight.  TWO hours with a three year old in JoAnn Fabrics…

I don’t know about you, but my experience is that small children do not LOVE fabric and craft stores…

If you have solved this problem, could you share your secret with me?

So, the end of another crazy May day was spent listening to a blast from the past…and gettin’ a little spiritual boost from it…

Eat your heart out, Steve Perry

I know I already posted about the craze of May days…and how we should be motivated in the middle of the craze…but, we should also keep believin’!

Romans 4:1 says “Against all hope, Abraham in hope believed and so became the father of many nations”  You know, father Abraham…a hundred years old and “good as dead” when he became the daddy to his promised son, Isaac.  “Good as dead” are not my words, either.  Check out Romans 4, it’s a good chapter.

I had babies in my twenties.  Then, I had babies in my thirties.  The difference was big.  Huge.  It felt like 25 years instead of 10.  The aches, the fatigue…that’s just the 30’s, I cannot imagine chasing a quick, chubby, little fellow in my 60’s…much less my 100’s.  But, that was God’s perfect time for Abraham.  Now, for this moment’s purposes I am not necessarily focused on God’s timing, because the days are flying by at wharp speed.  God’s timin’ is a’comin’!  (Obviously I am feelin’ the need for some apostrophes, please forgive!)  There are other times when it seems like God’s timing is never coming, but that is not today!  And, sometime I would also like to expound a lot more on hope.  ‘Cause it is a good thang.  (there’s that apostrophe again!)  At this moment, though, I want to focus on believing, and just throw in a dusting of hope.  

Can you imagine believing in the hope of God’s promise until you have arthritis in your earlobes?  Abraham did.  It was credited to him as righteousness.  In my hustle and bustle, can I muster up enough belief to know…this is all        so         passing. 

Believe, believe, believe.  “Surely the nations are like a drop in a bucket;  they are regarded as dust on the scales” (Isaiah 40:15)  If our big and mighty nations are a drop in the bucket physically, then let’s take the comparison timewise, too.  Think of how small these few weeks of the year are when I look back on my children’s lives at their high school graduations?  As a percentage of their lifetimes?  Of the lifespan from my great grandparents’ birth to my children’s?  Of the lifetime of the United States of America?  Of the two millenia since the death and resurrection of Jesus?  (oh yes, I got my calculator out, that one is 0.0029%)  If that is how small three weeks look based on our A.D. calendar, how small are they compared to, say, eternity?  Yet, even in this tiny drop of time, God has plans for us.  Plans to use us.  Good plans, indeed. 

Believe it, He is the ultimate architect.  Believe it, He loves you.  Believe it, He loves the world.  He is not wasteful, he is the pioneer of efficiency.  He can use every moment.  Whether it is in the day to day chaos of children and activities and learning and serving, whether it is an illness that is temporary or chronic, whether it is a hurtful, longterm marriage, …find hope in the fact that these days are fleeting, but believe in what God can do and use you for in this short time to affect ALL of time to come.

I’ve got to end with scripture.  It always does my soul good to let the last word be God’s word…

“But one thing I do:  Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”  (Philippians 3:13-14)

8 thoughts on “Don’t Stop Believin’

  1. Julie Turner Collins says:

    You didn’t know I needed a pep talk. But I did. Thanks for the encouraging words.

  2. Darlene says:

    Well said my Sister! Digging deeper to bring the awesome thought provoking truths of His Word to our minds, you are shining so brightly!

  3. kea mitchell says:

    LOVE IT BROTHA!!!!!

  4. Gloria says:

    “arthritis in your earlobes” – LOVE IT!

    Glad to see you are surviving your crazy May and living to blog about it!!

    (I still wanna see that picture Richard took up on here sometime! haha)

Leave a Reply

