The Inspiration Thing

Sometimes I need a little help being motivated to get up and do the thing.

Whatever ‘the thing’ might be.

It could be a ‘worship thing’.  Through the inspiration of His beautiful creation, how can we not want to worship the heavenly artist who can paint sunsets in our backyards…

or cowboy scenes, right across the street from our ultra-suburbia sub-division. (sometimes I have to pinch myself that I live in a place like this):

It could be a ‘parent thing’.  Sometimes a sweet smile or discerning question renews my energy to train these precious God-given gifts in the way they should go…

My family is an inspiration, too.  My sister has been blogging a daily bible study of the book of John this summer at Sanctified and Southern Fried (click on it to link to it).  It’s summer vacation, she has four kids, but she is doing ‘the thing’ of digging in the Word.  And, helping us sometimes-less-motivated people do the same.

There’s the ‘love thing’.  I am inspired by my friends who are going all over the world to share God’s love, as well as the ones who do it in their homes and at the grocery store.  These sweet friends have hearts for the world.  They also have hearts for encouraging me.  (and calling me out, on the , umm, oh-so-rare occasion I need a little of that)  What’s more, they will fly 2000 miles to do that.

Since moving to Colorado a few years ago, I have also had the great honor of becoming friends with such a diverse group of beautiful women in my church and neighborhood.  God has put these ladies in my life to inspire me with their servant’s hearts, their love and devotion to their husbands and families (including crockpot lunches after long days at church on Sundays when I’d rather eat out), and their patience in frustrating circumstances.  They are living out Hebrews 10:25, “Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another,” and inspiring me to do the same thing.

Some of  my new friends are a little older and wiser than I am.  Even though they are decades of wisdom and experience ahead of me, and I learn so much from them, we speak as girlfriends.  They inspire me with ‘the Titus thing.’

God Almighty gives us inspiration at every turn so that we cannot miss who He is, and so that our hearts will long to surrender to Him in every ‘thing’ we do.  As if that were not enough, He is so good, He even empowers us to do it!

“I can do everything through him who gives me strength.” (Phil 4:13)

12 thoughts on “The Inspiration Thing

  1. Katherine says:

    I love you!!

  2. Darlene says:

    You my darling Friend inspire me! You are a blessing dropped into my life by God Himself, I can not ever express my thankfulness to the Father and to you!

  3. kea mitchell says:

    I love you my Brotha(from another Motha)!!!!

  4. Gloria says:

    I am blessed to call you my friend as well!

  5. greerhome says:

    You inspire me to keep on doing the thing to!! I love ya!!

  6. CarolPinar DeFord says:

    You and Elizabeth are inspiring to me. I do so love your blogs

Leave a Reply

